About KXWT

Welcome to the New 91.3 FM, providing public radio to the Permian Basin.

Public Radio relaunched with new ownership, new programming, and a stronger signal in May 2012 at 91.3 FM. In early 2011, Odessa College said it was unable to continue supporting KOCV. Marfa Public Radio – its neighboring public radio station in the Big Bend – answered the call. By the end of 2011, Marfa Public Radio had purchased the station in order to preserve public radio in the Permian Basin.

West Texas Public Radio (KXWT “Across West Texas”) believes that public broadcasting is a vital community service that Odessa and Midland will stand up to support at the New 91.3 FM.

Please contact us with any questions by emailing info@kxwt.org.

In the Press:


Columbia Journalism Review, “How A Vibrant Public Radio Station Rose in the West Texas Desert.” March 3rd 2015

KXWT Board Members
Jim Byerlotzer (President)
Royce Mitchell (Treasurer)
Ginger Griffice (Secretary)
Ginger Reeder (Past President)
Kathy Bork
David Chappell
Bill Dingus
Chris Douridas
Lee Anna Good
Eugene Sepulveda

Emeritus Board Member
Joe Duran

KXWT Staff
Tom Michael, General Manager tom@marfapublicradio.org
Michael Camacho, Operations Engineer & Traffic Manager michael@marfapublicradio.org
Sara Melancon, Office Manager sara@marfapublicradio.org
Lorne Matalon, Fronteras Reporter lorne@marfapublicradio.org
Travis Bubenik, Host/Reporter travis@marfapublicradio.org
Jane Boles, Development Manager

Click here for full contact info or to send us a message.


To apply for an internship for Summer 2015, please email a resume, two references (with name and phone numbers) and a letter of interest to sara (at) marfapublicradio.org. The deadline for application is March 15, 2015.

KXWT welcomes Winter interns Mia Warren, Ian Lewis, Anna Rose MacArthur and Ryan Lentini.

There will be meeting of the board of directors on April 18 at 10 AM at Shared Spaces in Midland, and on July 25 in Marfa.